The Simpletone

Album Review – Dark Matter

Track Listing 1. Streets Of Rage 2. Whiskey Head 3. The Colour Of Blood 4. Hotel Motel 5. Devil Rider 6. Only The Brave 7. Pick Me Up 8. Land Of Lost Souls 9. Rich Man, Sick Man 10. Heroes 11. Cold Silver Broken.

The Simpletone

The Simpletone were formed in the summer of 2010 and have never stopped to look back since that date. Being collectively influenced by the likes of The Doors, Black Sabbath, Nirvana and Biffy Clyro – to name only a few, it has been a natural path of evolution that these guys have taken, steering them on a trip into a sublime world of stoner/alternative infused rock which also sits on the wilder side of grunge.

Much like the experience of their first album, ‘Rampenny’, The Simpletone’s bite for adventure comes crashing through in ‘Dark Matter’ and most splendidly announces the dawn of this, their next awakening. With dutiful rich rock melodies pulsing out from the heart of this album, along with a crisp progressive and psychedelic edge, this is an album destined to be a hit with the classic rock audience.

As with any band, The Simpletone have several identifiable characteristics that epitomize their identity and without doubt, the powerful vocals of Glenn Eastoe is one of them. Distinctive in his tone and cut from the most solid of rock, the vocals on each track provide a superbly forged strength and atmosphere that draws out the energy in ‘Dark Matter’ which is simply contagious.

‘Dark Matter’ is a great second album with a wealth of spectacular tracks on it with the standout songs on it in my opinion being ‘Streets Of Rage’, ‘Devil Rider’, ‘Hotel Motel’, ‘Hero’s’ and ‘Pick Me Up’. Definitely an album that you can jump into feet first and enjoy and one that warrants an 9/10 and a HELL YEAH! from me – epic!

Checkout “Cold Silver Broken” which is their official video from the new album “Dark Matter.

The Simpletone are Jonny Davison: Lead Guitar, Alex Aprigliano: Bass, Craig Seymour: Drums/Vocals and Glenn Eastoe: Guitar/Vocals and you can checkout more on the links below:

Review by Martin Wardle.