Soley Mourning

‘The Rocket Pool’ Review.

So last week I had a very special delivery! What was it you ask? It was Soley Mourning’s latest album, ‘The Rocket Pool’!

For those who don’t know, and honestly how could you not, Soley Mourning are a five piece, melodic classic rock band from the West Midlands, featuring Mat Partridge – Vocals, Tone Chambers on Guitar, Andy Guest on Guitar, Dattani on Bass and Lloyd Daker on Drums.

Soley Mourning - The Rocket Pool

Formed in 2006 the band already has three studio albums, with ‘The Rocket Pool’ being their fourth!

Soley Mourning have a distinct sound, with an easy to listen to base-y rock back line, plus super funky vocals and interesting guitar solos so you can see why they are rolling out the tunes!

Moving on to ‘The Rocket Pool’….

The new album featuring ten tracks, opens with ‘Last Of These Nine Lives’ which is a substantial track at 6:41mins. This track has a gravel toned guitar intro, leading into Mat’s distinctive vocals that promise it to be a strong first to the album and it doesn’t disappoint as the accompaniment of Tina V and her softer female vocal works beautifully with Mats’. My only criticism would be perhaps that the vocals could sit within the music rather than on top of it but the track is easy to listen to and structured beautifully! Sit and relax, listen to it in the car or hey, jump about with the cat because this one is a good ‘un!

Second on the listing is ‘Accidental Enemies’ and this track follows the previous one with real class. It is catchy and funky and if you like a little rock in your music, here it is…! This track has all you could want, from great vocals, OK, again maybe a little over the music, but you know what, the more I listen to the album the less this bothers me, great melody, solid guitar and bass! Bring up those drums and it’d be just perfect! Great, love it!

Bring on ‘Turn Yourself Around’ and what a different piece of music to the previous tracks! Vocal harmonies, waves of sound and full on funky! The flow of the chorus sits well within the track with the punchy bite of the verse and guitar solos all just adding to this tracks appeal! I can almost imagine the argument in these strong words especially the closing line… “Oh, have you only got the one agenda? No, and I am wasting time depending on ya!”

The fourth track on the album has a slightly heavier rock sound than its predecessor and starts as it means to go on! ‘Shark Eyes’ captures the slow drawn out guitar and vocals that are mixed with a faster and jumpy melody and keeps you guessing throughout – it’s smooth, it’s funky, it’s bold and you very much feel those eyes bearing down on you! It’s a quick one tho at only 3:10mins so don’t miss it!

‘Gumstream’! Well, what a beautiful intro that builds to a delicate guitar riff with vocals that come in with an equal amount of calm and delicacy. Then with a tempo change, the tune opens up building on that soft foundation with strength of dedication! A great Melody that is well centred around the baseline!

We next come to the title track, ‘The Rocket Pool’ with its abundance of gravel tones, strong drums, catchy bass and guitar, that all open this track with a bang! This track is just all there – it is together and it feels tight! With a middle track shift, we see down tempo break, then back to all cylinders go! “Rise like a rocket from the bottom of the pond!” It sure does, uplifting, powerful and over too soon!

You know what, over too soon it might be but when followed by ‘The Unmaking Of A Rational Mind’, you don’t mind. The synchronicity between the two songs works well together and makes for great track placement on the album. This track has so many lyrics and is a very involved piece of music which has a clear message to convey which only Mat could get across with his smooth funky tones. Take the time to listen to the words here, (if you don’t normally, that is) it just works!

Ooooh, ‘Seed Of Doubt’ next and this is a melodic rock song of two parts, seriously easy to listen to and almost gentle in its flow – I said almost! With its lingering lyrics, high notes and punchy drums, there is certainly no doubt that this is a pleasure to listen to!

We move onto the penultimate track on the album, ‘Only Embers’ which opens well with an intro that is great, powerful and tuneful! The break in the vocal comes just when you want it to and it doesn’t hang about either, making this track come alive with melody! With a strong tuneful vocal harmony that compliments Mat’s powerful voice but in the absence of competition on the ears, the vocals on this track simply work!

Then, last but certainly not least, we have ‘So Long Song’ which is dedicated to Paul. This track is primarily quite far removed to the previous nine as it has a soft and gentle soul to it which builds gradually from a folky back line! I am getting feelings of Noah and his gentle Whale when I listen to this and when it comes out of the shadows with a down pour of flowing melodic crescendo and string symphony, the phrase “remember you are my brother, and you ain’t heavy”, make this a stunning finish to what I found an enjoyable and easy on the ear new album!

Review by Xenia Seurat.