Beckon Lane

The Long Road EP – Release Date July 2017.

One thing often leads to another and in the case of Beckon Lane, after seeing them live at a Hils Ovation gig in Birmingham, the opportunity to grab a listen to their forthcoming EP was something that just had to be done.

Work on their second EPThe Long Road‘ has recently been completed and the fact that this EP comprises of just two tracks, actually endorses the statement that less is more, as both songs succinctly capture the intense full bodied sound that Beckon Lane posses.

With both tracks ram packed full of the glorious power found within Beckon Lane’s combined body of drums, bass and guitar, these songs really do give the listener an adrenaline fuelled ride, with the opening track ‘Fair Enough‘ getting the EP underway at full throttle. Having said that, this energy does not overshadow the bands attention to melody in anyway, as this song also boasts a quite simply stunning lower tempo refrain where the emotion within the lyrics undoubtedly shines through.

I have to say that the second song of the EPLong Way Round‘ was the song that clinched this EP’s prowess for me as it elevates Beckon Lane on to higher ground with some exceedingly impressive guitar melodies, making for one very sweet undercurrent indeed.

Overall, the one thing that repeatedly stopped me dead in my tracks throughout the entirety of this EP, was the vocal ability of Lewis Phillis as boy oh boy, can this guy sing! With such a great range and tone to his voice, my ears were glued to just about every note and to say I was WOWED is an understatement!

The release date for this EP is looking to be July 2017, so do keep checking in with band for further updates on that and I must say a big thank you to Beckon Lane for giving me the chance of this most appreciated preview, as this really is one great EP!

Track Listing:

  1. Fair Enough.
  2. Long Way Round.

Beckon Lane line up consists of:

  • Dan Brown – Drums/vocals
  • Lewis Phillis – Lead Vocals/Guitar
  • Samer Bata – Lead Guitar
  • Mike Nightingale – Bass

For more information visit Beckon Lane.

Review by Sue Wardle.